2021 Marvel and Star Wars TV Shows

Sylvia Dixon, Entertainment Editor


Marvel Studios and Lucasfilm are set to release numerous shows over the course of 2021. The companies are transitioning from primarily movie-based storylines to a TV show format. Although, this does not mean they are solely making TV shows from now on— they will continue to release movies. On Disney’s Investor Day (Dec. 10 2020), the company announced that Lucasfilm and Marvel Studios have plans to produce at least 22 new TV series, with release dates starting in 2021. These shows will be exclusively available on Disney’s streaming platform, Disney+.

“Wandavision” is the first series released by Marvel, debuting on Jan. 15 on Disney+ with new episodes every Friday. The series has received critical acclaim and positive reviews from fans of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. “Wandavision” follows the storyline of Wanda Maximoff, also known as Scarlet Witch, after the events of “Avengers: Endgame”. The show focuses on how Maximoff deals with the trauma she is suffering from due to having lost both her brother and romantic interest. Wandavision” will run for nine episodes total, with the season finale airing on Mar. 5. The series is yet to be confirmed for a second season.

The next Marvel series is set to debut on Mar 19  is “The Falcon and the Winter Soldier.” Similar to “Wandavision,” “The Falcon and the Winter Soldier” will be releasing six episodes total, each lasting an hour. It follows the story of Bucky Barnes, the Winter Soldier, and Sam Wilson, the Falcon, after the events of “Avengers: Endgame.” As you might remember, at the end of “Endgame,” Steve Rogers (Captain America) handed off his iconic adamantium shield to Sam, leading us to believe that Sam would become the next Captain America. According to The DisInsider, new details reveal that the show will also be exploring important themes such as racial prejudice and white privilege

There are four other Marvel TV Shows set to release this year, though none of them have official release dates. “Loki” is set to release in May of 2021 and, similar to the previously mentioned shows, it takes place after the events of “Endgame.” The majority of the filming for “Wandavision, The Falcon and the Winter Soldier” and “Loki” has already been completed. 

Marvel is also releasing a new animated show titled “What If…?” at some point this summer. This series will revisit major moments from previous Marvel films and explore what would have happened if these events occurred differently. 

“Ms. Marvel,” a live-action series, introduces a new character to the Marvel Universe: Kamala Khan (Ms. Marvel). She was introduced in the comics in Aug. 2013, and has received love from fans, leading to Marvel Studios’ executive decision to create a series focusing on the character. Ms. Marvel is the first Muslim superhero to make an appearance in the Marvel Cinematic Universe.  “Ms. Marvel” is set to debut in late 2021 and is currently in production. 

The “Hawkeye” series is also set to debut in late 2021. This series is based off of the Marvel Comics character, Kate Bishop. Bishop takes over the superhero role of Clint Barton, the former Hawkeye. Production has already begun with actress Hailee Steinfeld playing the role of Kate Bishop.

Lucasfilm also has a few series debuting this year, although most of the release dates have yet to be officially announced.  The two series expected to be released this year include “The Book of Boba Fett” and “The Bad Batch.”The Book of Boba Fett” is scheduled to be released in December, while “The Bad Batch” has no expected release date yet. Similar to the upcoming Marvel series, these shows will be available on Disney+. 

“The Book of Boba Fett” follows the story of Boba Fett, the infamous bounty hunter, who first made his appearance in the second movie of the Skywalker saga, The Empire Strikes Back. Recently, he played a major role in the second season of the successful Lucasfilm series, “The Mandalorian.” He is now getting his own show, which is set to take place after the events of “The Mandalorian.” At the end of “The Mandalorian,” we see Fett and Fennec Shand return to Jabba the Hutt’s palace on Tatooine. This palace played a major role in “A New Hope” and “Return of the Jedi.”

“The Bad Batch” is an animated spinoff of “The Clone Wars,” a recently finished Star Wars series. The show takes place after the Jedi are defeated by the Empire and focuses on a group of clones who become mercenaries. Lucasfilm released a teaser for the show in Dec of 2020. 

There are many more movies and shows expected to come from the Star Wars universe and the MCU after 2021 as well. Here is a list (movies are bolded, tv are italicized) with links to trailers. 

  • Black Widow (May 7 2021) 
  • Shang Chi and the Legend of the 10 Rings (July 9 2021)
  • Eternals (Nov. 5 2021)
  • Untitled Spider-Man sequel (Dec. 17 2021)
  • Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness (March 25 2022)
  • Thor: Love and Thunder (May 6 2022)
  • Black Panther 2 (July 8 2022)
  • Captain Marvel 2 (Nov. 11 2022)
  • Rogue Squadron (Dec. 25 2023)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.3 (TBA 2023)
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania (TBA 2023)
  • Fantastic Four (TBA)
  • Blade (TBA)
  • Moon Knight (TBA)
  • She-Hulk (TBA)
  • Secret Invasion (TBA)
  • Ironheart (TBA)
  • Armor Wars (TBA)
  • I Am Groot (TBA)
  • Obi-Wan Kenobi (TBA)
  • Ashoka (TBA)
  • Rangers of the New Republic (TBA)
  • Lando (TBA)
  • Andor (2022)
  • The Acolyte (TBA)
  • A Droid Story (TBA)